Immigration Blog

View the blogs separated by individual authors.

Is DHS Secretary Nielsen Willing to Enforce Immigration Laws?

Scott Greer has written an op-ed for the Daily Caller, "Trump Supporters Should Be Skeptical Of The New DHS Chief", which discusses the recent confirmation of Kirstjen Nielsen to the post of Department of Homeland Security (DHS) secretary.

As the title clearly suggests, Greer has doubts about Nielsen's chops to carry forward the as-yet unfinished job of restoring integrity and respect for the nation's immigration laws. I share those doubts.

Supreme Court Clears Trump Travel Restrictions, for Now

On Monday the Supreme Court issued two brief orders in Trump v. Hawaii and Trump v. Int'l Refugee Assistance. These cases relate to the latest iteration of travel restrictions that the administration has imposed on nationals seeking visas from certain countries, as set forth in the September 24, 2017, Presidential Proclamation Enhancing Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry Into the United States by Terrorists or Other Public-Safety Threats (EO-3).

DHS Releases FY 2017 Enforcement Statistics

The immigration enforcement numbers for Fiscal Year 2017 released today by the Trump administration show very good progress in restoring the integrity of our immigration system and reversing the disastrous policies of the previous administration. In particular, I am encouraged to see a 25 percent increase in interior removals, which had plunged to a 10-year low last year, and an increase in enforcement directed at criminals and fugitives – and particularly gang members.

The Worst Kind of Immigration Fraud

My colleagues and I have written extensively about immigration fraud. All immigration fraud is bad, because it undermines the integrity of the immigration system, and threatens national security. A recently completed case out of Indianapolis, however, presents the worst kind of immigration fraud: fraudulently obtained U-visas, nonimmigrant visas intended for victims of crime.

Topics: Visa Fraud

How Did the ISIS Fighter Held as an Enemy Combatant Obtain U.S. Citizenship?

The Washington Times ran an interesting article last week on the efforts of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) to determine the identity of, and provide representation to, an "American" fighter for ISIS who was captured on a battlefield in the Middle East and has not, since his departure to fight for the brutal terrorist organization, been back in the United States.

Two CIS Researchers Ousted from Visa Mill Meeting

On Saturday morning the authors were ousted from an apparently secretive meeting for students at a visa mill in Falls Church, Va., a D.C. suburb.

We (a father-and-son team) were sitting quietly at the edge of the room when a security guard told us to leave; he then followed us down in the elevator, and watched as we left the building. We thought that this might happen and left quietly.

Subscribe to Center for Immigration Studies Blog