The Eugene Katz Award
For Excellence in the Coverage of Immigration

2007: Stephen Dinan, the Washington Times
2006: Sara Carter, the Inland Valley Daily Bulletin (Ontario, Calif.)
2005: Jerry Seper, The Washington Times
2004: Lou Dobbs, Lou Dobbs Tonight (CNN)
2003: Joel Mowbray, National Review
2002: August Gribbin, The Washington Times
2000: William Branigin, The Washington Post
1999: Jayne Noble Suhler and Ed Timms, The Dallas Morning News
1998: Marcus Stern, Copley News Service (San Diego Union-Tribune)
1997: Jonathan Tilove, Newhouse News Service

The Eugene Katz Award For Excellence in the Coverage of Immigration was inaugurated in 1997 by the Center for Immigration Studies to promote informed and fair reporting on this contentious and complicated issue.  The inspiration for the award is a native New Yorker who started his career, after Dartmouth and Oxford, as a reporter for the Daily Oklahoman. In 1928 he joined the family business, working as an advertising salesman for the Katz Agency, and in 1952 became the president of Katz Communications, a half-billion-dollar firm which not only dealt in radio and television advertising but also owned and managed a number of radio stations.

Mr. Katz was also a member of Center for Immigration Studies board until shortly after his 90th birthday in 1997.  The Center benefited greatly from his wise counsel, and the board and staff developed an affection for him that went well beyond business matters. Mr. Katz passed away in March 2000 at the age of 93.

Return to Home