Open Borders Advocates Dominate House Immigration Panels

By David North on March 3, 2021

Outspoken Open Borders advocates, again this session, will dominate the Democratic leadership and membership of the four House of Representatives' panels dealing with immigration.

The full House Judiciary Committee will again be led by Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), whose district includes both Wall Street and Ellis Island. He is a firm supporter of, among other things, the EB-5 (immigrant investor) program. The ranking Republican is Jim Jordan (R-Ohio).

The Immigration and Citizenship subcommittee will again be chaired by Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), a one-time immigration lawyer and staunch foe of restrictionist measures. The vice chair (i.e., second-ranking Democrat) changed from the previous Congress; Indian-born Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.), was replaced by Joe Neguse (D-Colo.), whose parents came from Eritrea. The ranking member is Tom McClintock (Calif.).

The House Committee on Homeland Security will again be led by Bennie G. Thompson (D-Miss.); John Katko (R) of upstate New York is the ranking member.

The chairwoman of the House Appropriations Committee subcommittee on Homeland Security is the second-generation Hispanic member from California, Lucille Roybal-Allard (D), whose father held the district starting more than 50 years ago. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.) is the ranking member.

Judiciary's immigration subcommittee has 14 members. They are (with their NumbersUSA immigration-reduction (career) grades):

Democrats   Republicans
Zoe Lofgren (Calif.) F-   Tom McClintock (Calif.) A+
Pramila Jayapal (Wash.) F-   Ken Buck (Colo.) A+
J. Luis Correa (Calif.) F-   Andy Biggs (Ariz.) A+
Sylvia Garcia (Texas) F-   Tom Tiffany (Wisc.) A-
Joe Neguse (Colo.) F-   Chip Roy (Texas) A+
Veronica Escobar (Texas) F-   Victoria Spartz (Ind.) n/a
Sheila Jackson Lee (Texas) F-      
Mary Gay Scanlon (Pa.) F-      

There is not much overlap in viewpoints among these subcommittee members.

Topics: Politics