New Leaders of Senate Immigration Panels Identified

By David North on March 3, 2021

Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.) is the chairman of the Judiciary Committee, with 11 members on each side. The brand-new senator from California, Alex Padilla (D), the replacement for Vice President Harris in the chamber, is the new chairman of the immigration subcommittee. He was California's secretary of state and, earlier, a state senator.

The ranking member of the Judiciary Committee is Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), and John Cornyn (R-Texas) is the ranking member of the immigration subcommittee.

The Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee will be chaired by Gary Peters (D-Mich.) and the ranking member will be Rob Portman (R-Ohio). The Appropriations Committee homeland security subcommittee will be chaired by Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) and the ranking member will be Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va).

Judiciary's immigration subcommittee includes 14 senators. (The subcommittee's website does not yet have Sen. Feinstein listed, but the page for her personal office does.) They are (with their NumbersUSA immigration-reduction (career) grades):

Democrats   Republicans
Alex Padilla (Calif.) n/a   John Cornyn (Texas) B-
Dianne Feinstein (Calif.) D   Lindsey Graham (S.C.) C-
Amy Klobuchar (Minn.) D-   Ted Cruz (Texas) A+
Christopher Coons (Del.) F   Tom Cotton (Ark.) A-
Richard Blumenthal (Conn.) F   John Kennedy (La.) B+
Mazie Hirono (Hawaii) F   Thom Tillis (N.C.) B
Cory Booker (N.J.) F   Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.) A+
Topics: Politics